Staying Focused

July 31, 2009 at 10:27 am (Blog Responses) (, , , , )

In today’s Breakfast Topic on WoW.com, Daniel Whitcomb talks about the rituals and other things that players do whenever they are getting down to business. Some people get their drinks at the ready while some are loading up a favorite playlist. My current goal is The Argent Champion on my Paladin. I’ve been doubling this with the near impossible task of the Baron Rivendare mount, although it’s 1% drop chance makes me want to hurt someone.

For me, I load up WoW and then I load up Winamp with whatever podcasts have come out that week. I like to listen to them multiple times because honestly I zone out a lot while I’m playing. This week’s Twisted Nether Blogcast has been a personal favorite over the last week.

The easiest way for me to stay on a particular task in the game is to contribute to my goal in moderation. I might do a quick mount run of Stratholme about 30-45 minutes before our scheduled raid times, or if I find myself sitting at the computer doing nothing. I find it’s easier for me to take my time than to feel like I’m grinding. That’s one reason that I don’t do a lot of battlegrounds: If it feels like a grind, I don’t care to do it.

1 Comment

  1. Jason said,

    The preraid ritual is important. Gotta be comfortable in the chair. Hit the AH for anything I havent farmed up to that point. Gotta have the coffee ready or it just aint gonna happen. If anyone thinks that the preraid set up isnt important should try walking right in the door from work and hitting the portal. i promise you want feel the same about the raid

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

