First Impressions: Patch 3.2

August 5, 2009 at 8:56 pm (Commentary) (, , , , , , , , )

So here it is, the moment we’ve all been waiting for. As of yesterday’s maintenance, Patch 3.2, “Call of the Crusade,” is live. Today I got a chance to go around and check out some of the new content, and here are my first impressions.

The Argent Tournament: I thought there might be a reason that we were gathering so much stone and lumber. The coliseum really looks like it should. It puts you right into the mindset that you and your friends are going to step inside and duke it out with some of the greatest heroes in Azeroth. First thing I did was check out some of the updated dailies. Turns out the Tournament doesn’t need anymore stone or lumber, which is a good thing in my opinion. I got so tired of having to go to the Crystalsong Forest for the lumber and then back to the Storm Peaks for the stones. Jousting the Scourge Commanders has been updated so that the two respective dailies go faster, and the quest to kill 15 Scourge has been replaced by a quest to kill 15 Converted Heroes. Honestly to me it makes no difference, since Converted Heroes were the mobs I would kill for the 15 Scourge quest to begin with. There’s another Daily Quest where you fly up to a ridge and take out a bunch of cultists. Once again, I’m glad that I don’t have to go very far from the quest giver to complete the objective.

Heroic Trial of the Champion: After I logged on and picked up some Dailies, I hooked up with a PUG to do some Heroics, in hopes that I would pickup a good amount of Emblems of Conquest. So we stepped into the Heroic 5 man version of the Trial of the Champion. We blazed through the first jousting portion, however somewhere between dismount and pickup the bosses we wiped. One thing I like about this instance is that the bosses and trash will, “reset,” and be standing there when you re-enter the instance. I like this because I don’t have to start all over, like Violet Hold. After a few more wipes, we managed to get past the first trio and onto Argent Confessor Paletress. We got to the portion where she summons up and old boss and my ears nearly bled when this kid screamed out over vent because she summoned up Prince Thunderaan. Meanwhile, we all wiped while he was freaking out like it was a Miley Cyrus concert. We re-entered again and this time she summoned Vancleef, who was quickly dispatched along with the Confessor. I personally cannot wait to smash Hogger.

The Black Knight: The Black Knight, the final boss, is going to get his own note here. I don’t really remember a lot about the fight with the Black Knight, because it didn’t really last very long. The fight itself felt really anti-climatic. In short, I felt that it was too easy. For two boss fights and four wipes, one shotting the last boss without much effort left a bit of a sour taste in my mouth. Sure, we had to do a lot of running around because of all the adds, but at the end of it I was really left wondering if the fight was really going to be over. Now, our only clothie Mage got smacked around and died, however I still don’t feel that the fight was up to stuff.

Mounts: One thing that I was super excited about was the new Paladin only mount: The Argent Charger. I don’t know if I just missed it in the PTR coverage, however I was unaware that you had to be Exalted with every Horde faction in order to be able to get the mount. You have to have the Crusader title, which requires completing the achievement Exalted Argent Champion of the Horder. All I have to say is, “Really? Seriously?” Talk about one huge undertaking of an achievement. Not only do you have to complete the Valiant requirements for every faction, you also have to be Exalted with every Horde faction. I wasn’t even Exalted with Silvermoon whenever my Paladin first set foot on the Argent Tournament grounds. So far he is a Valiant of Silvermoon and Orgrimmar. I’ve been using my Champion’s Writs in order to get up my reputation with Orgrimmar while I work on the Thunder Bluff chain. At least this is something that will a byproduct of getting my Dailies done.

Mounts, 2.0: I also went over to Un’Goro Crater to see what this buzz about the new Ravasaur mount was all about. In the past, I’ve never really been big on mounts and pets, however with Wrath of the Lich King, these items no longer take up bag space, so I’ve started collecting them here and there. Of course, they couldn’t just make it somewhat easy for us to get the new mount. There’s a small quest chain, which if you are on a populated server could take some time, followed by the classic WoW quest of collecting lots of random items. Luckily, my guild had plenty of Runecloth stashed in the Guild Bank. Another part of the collection comes from doing a Daily Quest, and I’m really hoping that it doesn’t take me twenty days to get all of the ones I need. I’m also interested to see how much I end up paying for twenty Rugged Leather. I’m also not too terribly excited about the time that it takes to actually get down to Un’Goro, especially if I have to do so for twenty days overall.

Emblems of Conquest: On a last note, I think it’s awesome that Heroics are being updated. Emblems of Conquest dropping in Heroics is going to get people back into Heroics again. Not to mention, the Tier 8 tokens are not as expensive in the long run as the tokens from Heroism or Valor tokens. I for one think that this is awesome, and the rest of the items available are amazing compared to the ones that I am currently using.

All in all, I know that there’s not a lot of content for the, “Hardcore,” crowd, but for someone like me that doesn’t want to have to devote his life to the game to get cool stuff, it’s a step in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

